Walter Lowers National Mark in 400 Meter Freestyle

Dominic Walter
Dominic Walter prepares to race

Jamaica’s distance record holder Dominic Walter was responsible for the 15th senior national record to fall this year when he lowered his mark in the 400 metre freestyle to 4:08.67 (split time: 2:02.43). His previous best and national record of 4:09.20 was set in April in Puerto Rico. Walter lowered his standard while competing for the Golden Horseshoe Aquatic Club at the 2015 Canadian Swimming Championships. The McMaster student athlete also clocked a personal best of 1:55.50 in the 200 metre freestyle. He is now the second fastest Jamaican swimmer in the event this season. He also clocked a relay split of 53.38 in the club’s 4x 100 metre freestyle relay.

Walter had this to say about his performance:

This week was a great step to end off this season, as well as to prepare me for the coming season, as Canadian Nationals was later in the year than normal. Keeping my fitness into the coming season will be very important as this will be my last year of collegiate swimming and I will be going for the school record in the 400 Free. I was very happy with my swims. My coaches and I have made a few adjustments to my stroke this summer, so [I’m] hoping to make more drops in the future.

Leave a Reply

