Christanya Shirley and father Christopher
Christanya Shirley and father Christopher
Emily MacDonald Karl Dalhouse
Emily MacDonald
Angara Sinclair and mother Annette Francis Barnett
Angara Sinclair and mother Annette Francis Barnett Photo courtesy of Lynval Lowe
Shaun Johnson and aunt Kerris Stewart
Shaun Johnson and aunt Kerris Stewart
Britney and Mom
Dawn Wheatley-Williams mother of Britney Williams and Britney Williams Photo Courtesy of Lynval Lowe
Rajiv Redhi
Rajiv Redhi
Matthew Hilton
Matthew Hilton


Cameron Brown
Cameron Brown


The Y Speedos hosted Karl Dalhouse Memorial Swim Meet which ran from January 29 -31 saw a number of records and personal bests smashed. The meet which is the last major swim meet before Jamaica’s Age Group Championships saw a number of swimmers stepping up their performance. Chief among the record breakers was Christanya Shirley of the Marlins Swim Club.


Shirley lowered two national records at the meet. The eight year old lowered the national record in the 8 and under 50 metre butterfly. Shirley stroked her way to 38.37 for the Gold medal .In the process she lowered the 2003 meet record of Y Speedos and national representative Raynae Hall as well as Hall’s national standard of 38.84. In 2015 Shirley had finished 5th with a 45.94

Christanya would smash another record in 200 metre individual medley. Swimming in the 10 and under event Shirley competing with 9 and 10 year olds won the event in 3:17.73. This time she bettered the standard of another Y Speedos and decorated age group representative Allison Bardowell. Allison’s mark was on the books from 1995. Shirley would win Gold medals in the 50 metre backstroke in 44.50, 50 metre freestyle 35.33 and 50 metre breaststroke 47.13.


Emily MacDonald of Swimaz Aquatic Club continues to be the form athlete in the 11-12 girls age group. She was responsible for 4 meet records in her 7 individual Gold medal haul. In the 50 metre freestyle she broke Angara Sinclair’s 2012 record of 28.85 with a personal best swim of 28.69.  In 2015 Emily was  4th in a time of 31.13 .With her first swim under 29 seconds she puts herself in pole position to break the national record of 28.23 set by Olympian Alia Atkinson in 2001 at the CCCAN championships. She would take down another Sinclair standard in the 100 metre freestyle when she clocked 1:04.39 bettering the mark of 1:05.34.

She would break another Atkinson record in the 200 metre freestyle. That record belonged to Olympian and distance queen Janelle Atkinson .The old mark was 2:25.12 it now stands at 2:24.65.The last mark that she set was also set in 1995 by Panamian D Capunay of 1:13.27 in the 100 metre butterfly. Emily lowered the meet standard to 1:12.91.In 2015 Emily finished 3rd in a time of 1:23.45 in 2015. She won the 200 metre individual medley with a personal best of 2:51.37.The 400 metre freestyle saw her record another personal best of 5:08.45.

The last meet record to fall saw a tight battle between the Y Speedos Angara Sinclair and US based Shaun Johnson. In a race decided by hundredths of a second Sinclair prevailed with a time of 1:09.99 with Johnson close behind in 1:10.04.Both swimmers were under Sinclair’s year old mark of 1:11.36.

Britney Williams of Swimaz continued her build up to Age Group champs with an emphatic 10 second plus win the 400 metre freestyle. She took the Gold medal in a personal best of 4:52.10.

Rajiv Redhi of the Y Speedos was the most dominant male swimmer at the meet capturing 9 individual Gold medals. Rajiv won the 100 and 200 metre breaststroke events, the 100 and 200 metre butterfly races,400, 200 and 50 metre freestyle, 100 ,metre backstroke and 200 metre individual medley events. In the 200 metre breaststroke he dropped 13 seconds from 2015 to win the event in 3:01.39. He was also the highest placed 11-12 swimmer in the 1500 metre freestyle.

Alex Mignott of Tornadoes who competed in the 13-24 age group almost completed a freestyle sweep as he won the 1500, 400, 200 and 100 metre freestyle races. His sweep was stopped by Jordan Hines of Swimaz who won the 50 metre event in 25.56.Mignott finished 2nd in a personal best of 25.68.

In a fantastic race in the 200 metre breaststroke for 13-24 men Cameron Brown of the Y Speedos dropped more than 2 seconds to win the event .Brown came from behind to beat Sean –Douglas Gooden of the Tornadoes Swim Club 2:48.47 to 2:48.84. The award is given to the winner of the event in honour of the late Matthew Hilton who passed on Sep 11, 2008.Hilton was a many time national representative and loved by all in the swimming community not only locally but regionally.

The Y Speedos won the team title with 792 points, Tornadoes was 2nd with 768 and Marlins Swim Club 3rd with 421 points.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s