The national marks continued to fall on the third day of the 2016 Bahamas RBC National Swimming championships.

The senior national record fell in the very last event on Saturday as the Swift swimming men took the senior 200 medley relay title and national record. The championship record which doubled as the national standard was set last year by the Barracudas team of Matthew Lowe, Utoy Wong, N’Nhyn Fernander and Kohen Kerr when they had stopped the clock in 1:48.86. The Swift team of Dionisio Carey, Dustin Tynes, Jeremy Knowles and Joshua Roberts took more than a second off that time to register 1:47.57. Second was Alpha aquatics in 1:49.78 and the Bronze was won by Barracudas in 1:50.26.


The Barracudas however would claim a national record in the 13-14 boys age group in the same event. This as the team of Kevin Lockhart, Izaak Bastian, Ian Pinder and T’Lez Foulkes shattered the old national and championship o mark of 1:56.59 to win convincingly in 1:53.97. Also under the record winning the Silver medal was the Swift Swimming team of Peter Morley , DaVante Carey, Darren Laing and Joshua Murray. The record was set last year by the Alpha Aquatics team of Joshua Murray, William Russell, Alex Encinar and Michael Hernandez.

Samuel Gibson 100 freestyle record holder
Bahamian 13-14 100 metre freestyle record holder Samuel Gibson

Samuel Gibson of the Alpha Aquatics just missed becoming the first Bahamian 13-14 boy under 55 seconds in the 100 metre freestyle when he took the age group title in a new national mark of 55.07. By claiming the Gold medal with that performance he bettered the Championship record of 56.12 set by Elvis Burrows in 2004 and the national mark of 55.37   Christopher Vythoulkas almost 20 years ago in 1998 in Bridgetown Barbados. Also under the both the Championship and national record was Izaak Bastian who took the Silver in 55.13.The Bronze went to Darren Laing of Swift Swimming in 56.41.


Olympian Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace of Swift Swimming took her 8th senior title in the 100 metre freestyle in emphatic style when she won in the race by over 5 seconds in a championship record time of 54.52. That performance bettered her 2012 Nationals record of 55.12 and was also yet under the Rio Olympics a standard of 54.43.It was also just off her season best of 54.14. Her previous title wins were as follows

2015 55.65
2014 56.24
2012 55.17
2011 55.55
2010 56.14
2009 55.80
2008 56.01


The Silver medal was won by Bria Devaux of Barracudas in 59.64 .she was followed to the wall by Maya Thompson of Swift Swimming who clocked 1:01.12.

Collecting his 3rd national senior crown in the 50 metre breaststroke was Dustin Tynes of Swift Swimming .He broke his own Championship record of 29.52 when he clocked 28.79 for his third straight win in the event. Teammate Joshua Wong was runner up in 30.50 in close battle with Fernander of Barracudas who won Bronze in 30.51.


Also setting a championship record in the ladies race was Laura Morley .She clocked 33.88 to better the previous championship record of 34.17. Second went to her teammate and the previous record holder Albury Higgs in 34.38. Third went to Victoria Russell of Alpha Aquatics in 34.70.



Izaak Bastian of Barracudas would get his own championship record in the 50 metre breaststroke as well. The 13-14 CARIFTA champion broke Tynes’ 2011 meet record of 30.93 with a 30.87.His club mate T’Lez Foulkes was second in 32.88.Luke Kennedy Thompson of Alpha Aquatics won the Bronze in 32.95.

In the 11-12 age Lamar Taylor of Freeport Aquatics produced the first sub 59 performance ever done in the boy’s 100 metre freestyle when he won in a record 58.78. In the 11-12 girls 50 metre breaststroke Jamilah Hepburn produced the first sub 37 second clocking with her meet record swim of 36.97.


In the senior 200 individual medley final Albury Higgs 2:29.16 held off younger sister Lilly 2:30.36 to retain her title. Alpha Aquatics Zoe McCarroll was third in 2:38.10.

In the men’s equivalent Matthew Lowe of the Barracudas 2:09.09 won convincingly ahead of the Swift pair of Tynes 2:15.76 and Alec Sands 2:15.96.

Kerr Kohen
Kohen Kerr National champion in the 100 metre freestyle Photo courtesy of Bahamas Swimming

In the 100 metre freestyle  Kohen Kerr of the Barracudas won his first national title with a swim of 52.65. Battling him all the way to the finish was Jared Fitzgerald of Alpha Aquatics who was timed in 52.91.Gershwin Greene won Bronze in 54.25.

The senior title in the women’s 200 medley relay went to Swift Swimming as the team of Celia Campbell, Laura Morley, Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace and Maya Thompson touched the wall first in 2:05.94. Second went to Alpha Aquatics in 2:09.47 and the Bronze went to Barracudas in 2:14.18.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s