MARGARET AND LILLY HIGGS MAKE FINALS ON DAY 2 OF JUNIOR PAN PACIFIC CHAMPIONSHIPS

higgs-sisters-pan-pacs
Margaret and Lilly Higgs Photo courtesy of Rochelle Bastian and Bahmas Swimming

 

Bahamian sisters Margaret and Lilly Higgs were the first swimmers to earn a second swim at the Junior Pan Pacific Championships on Friday August 25th in Hawaii.  The sisters  who have dominated the 100 breaststroke event regionally  in the 15-17 category by  sweeping Gold and Silver both at CARIFTA in Martinique and CISC (Caribbean Islands Swimming championships)  in their home country. Lilly booked her spot with a 1:13.08 effort (split time 34.69) for 13th overall. Older sister Margaret qualified for another swim with a time of 1:13.79 (split time 34.70) .She placed 15th overall.

margaret-higgs-100-breast-jpp
Margaret Higgs Photo courtesy of Rochelle Bastian and Bahamas Swimming

In the B final later that day Margaret would place 4th in a time of 1:13.65 (split time 34.83). She had this to say after her swim

“It is always an honour to represent the Bahamas, but this trip is really special since it’s the first time the Bahamas has sent a team to Junior Pan Pacs. It is a great feeling making history. My first event was the 100 breast, and although I didn’t go a best time, I came 4th in the B final swimming alongside my sister. I’m looking forward to my next two events on Saturday”

lilly-higgs-100-breast-jpp
Lilly Higgs Photo courtesy of Rochelle Bastian and Bahamas Swimming

 

Her sister Lilly had splits of 35.22 and 38.91 to finish 6th in a time of 1:14.13. Speaking after that swim she said

I am proud to have had the opportunity to be on the first Bahamian team taken to Jr Pan Pacific Championships. Before my first event, the 200 free, I had a technical difficulty but still performed as well as I could. The 100 breaststroke was my second event. In the prelims I went one of the fastest times I’ve swam this season, enabling me to swim in the B final and place 6th.

 

Bermudan standout Madelyn Moore was 44th in the 100 metre freestyle in a time of 1:01.57.

Leave a Reply

