GROTERS BECOMES #1 IN FLORIDA AS HE AND JACOBS TAKE DOWN SCHOOL MARKS AT FLORIDA 1A CHAMPIONSHIPS

arubans-jacobs-and-groters-m-lyn
Arubans Daniel Jacobs and Patrick Groters Photo courtesy of Michael Lyn

The (Nova Southeastern University) University School’s Aruban contingent of Patrick Groters and Daniel Jacobs made a record breaking impact at the Florida 1A state championships. Both lowered their school records at the meet held at the Sailfish Splashpark Aquatic Athletics Center on Friday Nov 11.

patrick-groters-100-back-gold-m-lyn
Patrick Groters 100 yard backstroke Gold Medallist Photo courtesy of Michael Lyn

Groters lowered his personal best by 2 seconds and broke the 50 second barrier to win the 100 yard backstroke in 49.19.His victory, which was also a school record, was clear from the first 50 yards as he had the only sub 24 split at 23.97. He also was the only swimmer under 50 seconds in the Championship final as he won by over a second. Of all the 4 divisions in the Florida high school championships Patrick’s Gold medal winning time was the fastest of all.

patrick-back-start-1a-m-lyn
Patrick Groters backstroke start Photo courtesy of Michael Lyn

Groters would also see another significant time drop and school record in the 200 yard individual medley. At the beginning of the year his personal best stood at 1:50.22. That was bettered in the heats when he clocked 1:49.91. He would be even faster in the final when he won the Silver in a time of 1:48.52 (split time 50.31). That ranks Patrick as the 3rd fastest in Florida. He and teammate Jacobs would win the B final of the 100 yard freestyle relay in a time of 3:16.09.It was the sub 47 second splits of 46.44 by Daniel and 46.58 by Patrick that was proved decisive for the University team.

patrick-groters-with-his-coaches-after-winning-the-100-yard-backstroke-title-at-florida-1a-state-champs
From left to right Coach Jay Fitzgerald, Patrick Groters, Coach Mariusz Podkoscielny

Patrick had the following thoughts about his swims.

“All around it was a great experience. Had an amazing time with both my team-mates and swimming. I’m glad with all my times even in the relay (even though we were in the B final). All around it was a great meet, swimming with people that I’ve known for a long time. My results surprised me and motivated me too continue to practice hard and to further improve my times. This is just another step forward to my preparation for long course season in 2017 to represent Aruba.”

daniel-jacobs-bronze-200-freestyle
Daniel Jacobs 200 yard freestyle Bornze medallist Photo courtesy of Michael Lyn

Daniel would also have a school record double. In the 200 yard freestyle he moved up from 4th in the B final in 2015 to win Bronze this year. In achieving that feat he went under the 1:40 barrier to record a time of 1:39.67 (split time 48.27).That swim places him 9th in Florida

The 500 yard freestyle saw him missing the podium but still with a new school record of 4:30.75 and 10th place overall in Florida. He had the following thoughts about his performance.

daniel-jacobs-m-lyn
Daniel Jacobs Photo courtesy of Michael Lyn

 “I am very pleased with my results at States, especially with my 200 Free going sub 1.40 which I had not expected. My goal was to make the junior nationals cut in both events which I achieved. I am already back in the water preparing for junior nationals which is held in Ohio. I feel with these times that I did I am right on track for my goals for long yourself season when I represent Aruba.”

University school finished 8th in the boys category with 53 points.

Leave a Reply

