TJON A JOE RECORDS B CUT IN BREASTSTROKE AT ART ADAMSON INVITATIONAL

raiz-2016
Raiz Tjon A Joe

Texas A & M Surinamese freshman Raiz Tjon A Joe recorded his first B cut at NCAA Division I level at the Art Adamson Invitational at the Mansfield ISD Natatorium in Texas.

After making his season debut in the 100 yard breaststroke in the event with a time of 56.78 he earned a 2nd swim by making it to the C final. He proved to be the class of the field as he was half a second ahead of his competitors at the 50 yard mark with a split of 26.02. His second 50 yards split of 29.17 was almost a second faster than the competition giving him the win in 55.19. It bettered the B standard of 55.39. His performance was the 6th fastest of the 4 final heats contested.

He would have near misses for bettering the B cut in the 50 and 100 yard freestyle. In the 50 yard freestyle he placed 3rd in the B final with a time of 20.37. In the morning he recorded a season best of 20.27(split 9.91) to be just off the B time of 20.19. In the longer sprint freestyle event he was 6th in a time of 45.19.Like the 50 he recorded his season best earlier in the day posting 44.63(split time 21.02) not far off the B time of 44.29.

In the 100 yard butterfly he recorded a time of 50.06 (split time 23.33). He finished 4th in the C Final with a time of 50.24.

His highest placing would be in the 400 yard freestyle relay as the Aggies A team placed 3rd . The team of Corey Bolleter 44.47, Jacob Gonzales 43.31, Raiz 44.24 and Kaan Ayar 44.17 clocked the 17th fastest time in Division I of 2:56.69.

In the 200 yard medley relay Raiz had his fastest breaststroke split this season of 25.10 as the Aggies B team placed 6th in 1:29.58.In the 400 yard medley relay his C team placed 7th overall in a time of 3:17.55. His breaststroke contribution was 55.62.

raiz-2016-2a

Raiz had the following thoughts about the meet and the rest of the season

“My performances where very good considering not being tapered and being able to go close to best times in both the 100 fly and 100free.I am very excited for the season and hope to qualify for NCAA Championships. I predict that my 100 free and 100 breast will be my fastest events in the season .I also have the  possibility to swim very well in the 50 free, but I am more focused on my 100m,because I am a better at 100 free than 50m due to my endurance. My ultimate goal is to go 41-42 in 100 free and 53 in 100 breast for this season. I think this jump is possible since I adapted a vegan diet. It drastically increased my recovery and endurance, hence why I am concentrating more on my 100’s. Furthermore I am excited to see what I can do for other collegiate meets as well as international meets.”

The Aggies finished 2nd of the 6 team with 917 points.

Leave a Reply

