CAYMAN ISLANDS SENIOR AND JUNIOR RECORDS FALL IN THE 100 METRE FREESTYLE AT WORLD SHORT COURSE SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIPS

 

100-metre-freestyle-record-holders-alison-and-luaren
13-14 and senior national 100 metre freestyle record holders From left to right Alison Jackson and Lauren Hew

The national record count after two days of competition at the World Short Course Swimming Championships in Windsor Canada stands at 4 for the Cayman Islands. Teammates Lauren Hew and Alison Jackson accounted for new national and junior standards in the 100 metre freestyle.

 

Hew became the first woman from Cayman Islands under 57 seconds when she recorded a time of 56.99 (split time 27.09). That performance placed her 57th overall. It also considerably lowered the national record of 58.07 set by Lara Butler in 2015.speaking after the race Lauren said

“I had no idea what the record was going into the event, I was just focused on swimming my own race . It felt great because I knew I was set up well to lower my time”.

Teammate Alison Jackson lowered her 13-14 record in the event set in Feb from 59.67 to 59.24 (split time 28.08). Jackson had the following thoughts about the race

“ I knew what the record was beforehand because it was my old record and my current personal best. After the race even though it wasn’t what I had hoped for it was still a pb so I was happy”.

Leave a Reply

