THREE MORE NATIONAL RECORDS FALL FOR ARUBA ON DAY 2 OF THE WORLD SHORT COURSE SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIPS

allyson-ponson-wsc-2
Allyson Ponson

The records continued to tumble for Aruba on Day 2 of the 13th World Short Course Swimming Championships in Windsor Canada on Wednesday Dec 7.All members of the three member team set new standards.

The first person to etch their name in the record books was Allyson Ponson. She set a new mark of 56.34 (split time 26.99). Her thoughts after the race were

“My plan was to enjoy the race and focus on my turns. Unfortunately I don’t think that my turns were as good as they could have been. But I am happy with the time”.

jordy-groters-wsc-2
Jordy Groters

Countryman Jordy Groters would set a new national standard in the 100 metre butterfly. His splits were 25.38 and 29.49 for a final time of 54.87 and 48th overall. Speaking after the race he said

“It was a different experience to race a fly event. This was my first time at such a high level meet swimming fly, and I enjoyed it. I didn’t have any pre-race expectations, just jumped in and went for it, and I was happy with the results”.

daniella-van-den-berg-wsc-2
Daniella van den Berg

Daniella van den Berg in her first race of the Championships placed 26th in the 800 metre freestyle. The Aruban national record in the event is 8:58.72 (400 split 4:25.07). When asked about the race she said

“I was excited to get going after watching everyone swim yesterday. This was my first time ever doing 800 in scm, and I did not know what to expect. Now I know, it is a whole bunch of turns and a lot less swimming. I am satisfied with the actual time I did”.

Leave a Reply

