NATIONAL RECORDS RATTLED BY HEW AND JACKSON ON DAY 3 OF WORLD

lauren-hew-2016-wsc
Lauren Hew Senior national record holder in the 200 metre freestyle and 100 metre backstroke Photo courtesy of caymansportsbuzz.com

The 3rd  day of the World short Course Swimming championships on Dec 8 saw two national records threatened by Lauren Hew and Alison Jackson.

In the heats of the 200 metre backstroke in Windsor, Canada Lauren Hew clocked a time of 2:16.59 (split time 1:04.62) to place 30th. That considerably bettered her performance and Cayman Islands best placing of 2014. At the 2014 Doha Championships Hew had placed 44th in a time of 2:24.38. She also closed in on the national record of Lara Butler of 2:14.38. That performance had her ranked as the highest placing swimmer from the CARIFTA region. Speaking after the race Hew said

“This is the first time have been under my best short course 200 back time in a while so I was pleased with my time but I know I can have a lot faster second half of the 200 in the future”.

 

Teammate Alison Jackson was even closer to setting a national record in the 13-14 age group in the 100 metre individual medley. She stopped the clock in a time of 1:09.38 (split time 31.79). The 2009 standard of 1:09.06 belonging to Butler barley survived Jackson’s assault. Her thoughts on the race were

“I was very pleased with my swim today, with a 3 second PB in my 100IM”.

Alex McCallum had to pull double duty racing in both the 50 metre freestyle and 50 metre backstroke. In the freestyle he was 95th in 24.14 and 60th in the backstroke in 27.48. In talking about his performances Alex said

“I was really happy with my swims today and I feel I am progressing throughout the meet. Considering I only had 40 minutes between my races, to get 2 personal bests was a fantastic result”.

Leave a Reply

