Zaneta Alvaranga Freestyle Sprint Double Champion and record holder Karl Dalhouse 2017 Photo courtesy of Cheser Adams

The morning session of day 2 of the 2017 Karl Dalhouse Memorial Invitational on Saturday Feb 4 saw Zaneta Alvaranga of the Y Speedos and Sabrina Lyn of the Tornadoes Swim Club accounting for the new individual meet records. All the meet marks fell in the mixed 200 freestyle relay events. Those records fell to teams from the Y Speedos, Marlins and Tornadoes Swim Clubs.

Zaneta Alvaranga competing in her final year of the 11-12 age group completed the freestyle sprint record double. After setting the 50 metre freestyle record on Friday night she set the meet record in the longer sprint. She stopped the clock in 1:04.04. She lowered the 2016 mark of 1:04.39 by Emily MacDonald of Swimaz Aquatics. Both sprint freestyle marks belonged to Emily who was undefeated locally and regionally in 2016  copping the sprints titles at CARIFTA in Martinique and CISC in The Bahamas. Silver and Bronze went to teammate Paig’e Lewis and Sabrina Lyn of the Tornadoes Swim Club in personal best times of 1:05.98 and 1:06.45 respectively.

Sabrina Lyn 11-12 record holder in the girls 200 metre individual medley Photo courtesy of Cheser Adams

Lyn would get her name in the record books later in the morning when she lowered the 22 year old record of 2:45.09 by Panamanian D Capunay of the Barracudas Swim club. She would register a new meet record of 2:45.04 , a new personal best of more than 10 seconds. Silver went to Alvaranga in a personal best of 2:49.18.Teammate Paig’e Lewis won Bronze in yet another personal best of 3:03.21.Earlier in the session she took Gold in the 200 metre breaststroke in 3:20.37.

In the mixed relays the meet record would fall in the 8and under, 9-10 , 11-12 and 13-23 age categories. In the 8 and under event the Y Speedos’ A team of Saamanta Selvon, Renae Chung, Zion Bundy and Zack Andre Johnson set new mark of 2:41.44.

The 9-10 Marlins A team of Josh Johnson, Kokolo Foster, Josh Wilkinson and Christanya Shirley put their names in the record books with a record swim of 2:22.36.

In the 11-12 age group it was the Tornadoes team of Sabrina Lyn, Isabella Sierra Nikolos Gordon-Somers and Nathaniel Thomas that took the Gold and set the meet record with their combined effort of 2:00.89.

In the 13-24 age group it was the Y Speedos who became the new standard bearers. The team of Jordane Payne, Brianna Anderson , Naomi Eaton and Kyle Sinclair just held off Swimaz A team to take the win in a time of 1:49.40 to 1:49.48.

Presentation of Matthew Hilton Memorial trophy From left to right Sean- Douglas Gooden winner of the boys 13-24 200 metre breaststroke . Mr Michael Lee ,former Jamaica representative and father of meet record holder Dominic Lee Photo courtesy of Lynval Lowe

The Matthew Hilton memorial trophy was won by the Tornadoes Sean-Douglas Gooden who took the 13-24 200 metre breaststroke boys race in a personal best time of 2:38.12. The trophy is awarded to the winner of the event in honour of the late Matthew Hilton, a former national representative and Y Speedos swimmer.

11-12 boys 200 metre breaststroke presentation from left to right Gold medal winner Nikolos Gordon- Somers and former national representative Mr Michael Lee Photo courtesy of Lynval Lowe

The female equivalent was won by teammate Annastazia Chin in a personal best of 2:59.85. Both Gooden and Chin would go on to win their respective 200 metre individual medley races in times of 2:22.53 (pb) and 2:38.66 respectively. The 11-12 boys race was won by Nikolos Gordon-Somers in 3:12.71.

Other swimmers who completed the freestyle sprint double by winning the 100 metre freestyle included Nathaniel Thomas (Tornadoes) 11-12 boys 1:02.41, Emily MacDonald (Swimaz) 13-24 girls 1:01.06, Jordan Hinds 13-24 boys 57.33.Thomas would also go on to win the 200 metre individual medley in 2:43.48.

Christanya Shirley Double Gold medallist in the 9-10 girls 50 metre freestyle and 200 metre individual medley Photo courtesy of Cheser Adams

The 8 and under and 9-10 age groups saw a number of double winners. Chung in the 8 and under category took the 50 freestyle and 200 IM in personal best times of 36.73 and 3:39.37. Zack Andre Johnson the Y Speedos completed his double in 36.21 and 3:38.31. The Marlins pair of Christanya Shirley and Josh Johnson once again dominated the 9-10 category. Shirley had wins in times of 32.86 and 3:09.87 while Johnson won his races in 34.18 and 3:24.31.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s