LAURA MORLEY ON THE MOVE SETS PERSONAL BESTS AT BIG TEN CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIPS

laura-and-friend-on-pool-deck-from-big-ten-2017
Hoosier A finalists in the 200 yard breaststroke from left to right Olympian Lilly King and Laura Morley Photo courtesy of Laura Morley

The Bahamas Laura Morley made significant time drops at the 2017 Big Ten Championships recently to continue her upward trajectory in the sport. The sophomore who represents the Indiana University Bloomington had all personal bests at the meet which was held at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center in West Lafayette Indiana from Feb 15 to 18.

laura-and-friend-from-big-10-2017
Hoosier breaststrokers from left to right Hope Hayward and Laura Morley Photo courtesy of Laura Morley

Heading to her 2nd consecutive Conference Championships the Nassau native had a season best time of 1:02.70 (split time 29.66) in the 100 yard breaststroke. Her personal record in the event stood at 1:02.16 (split time 29.41) from the 2016 edition of the Championships. In the morning preliminaries Laura ensured that she would better those times as well as her placing from last year when she clocked 1:01.25 (split time 29.16) to make the B final in the event. In 2016 she had finished 6th in the C final in a time of 1:02.40 . The final in the evening saw her just off her new personal best as she finished 6th in a time of 1:01.54 (split time 29.25). In both races Morley was under the NCAA Division I B standard of 1:02.49.Her personal best in the even now places her as the 7th fastest performer in Hoosier history.

 

 

The 200 yard breaststroke saw another significant achievement for the 2016  CISC (Caribbean Islands Swimming Championships) 18 and over girls 200 metre breaststroke champion. Morley had set an new personal record and season best at the 2016 AT&T Winter Championships in Atlanta Georgia with a time of 2:13.11 (split time1:04.84). She relegated that time to history in the morning heats. With an opening 100 yards of 1:02.47 she was going to be much faster than she had been before when she got her hands to the final. The final time on the clock provided that evidence as she recorded a new personal best of 2:11.50.That performance was well under the NCAA B time of  2:15.99 and qualified her for her FIRST Championship Final at   BIG TENs. This should the marked improvement from 2016 when she was 26th in 2:15.57. In that final Morley who holds the national record in the 200 metre breaststroke was just off her morning and placed 8th in a time of 2:11.72 (split time 1:03.16).Laura is now the 9th fastest  Hoosier of all time in the event.

 

2017-big-ten-hoosiers-womens-team
2017 Hoosiers BIG TEN women’s team Photo courtesy of Blaire Bachman

In speaking to draftingthecaribbean Laura offered these thoughts about her 2017 BIG Ten experience

Overall, I am very pleased with my performances at BIG TENs. My ultimate goal was to score as many points for Indiana and my amazing team. I am thrilled with my personal best times; it makes all of the hard training worth it. BIG TENs is always such an exciting meet and I was so honoured to be score points for my team.”

 

She also described her mindset heading into the Conference Championships

“Going into BIG TENs my goals were to make sure I executed all my races properly and go best times. I didn’t have any particular times that I wanted to achieve.”

When asked about her plans post BIG TENs and possible participation at CCCAN in Trinidad and Tobago from July 1-6, World Championships in Hungary from July 23- to 30 and the World University Games in Taipei from August 20 to 27

“Post BIG TENs my team and I are headed to the Indy Pro Series this weekend in Indianapolis. I will be training in Bloomington this summer with Indiana University. As for my summer meet plans depending on how I perform l, will determine which meet I attend. I love representing the Bahamas so which ever meet I end up at I will be happy with.”

2017-hoosiers-womens-swim-team
2017b Hoosiers women’s swim team Photo courtesy of Blaire Bachman

 

The Hoosiers finished 2nd overall with 1125 points.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

