PATRICK GROTERS STANDS TALL FOR ARUBA AT 2017 CARIFTA CHAMPIONSHIPS

Heading to the his final CARIFTA Championships in The Bahamas Patrick Groters knew he would be the only swimmer representing Aruba .That did not seem to daunt him but rather inspire him as evidenced by his performances where he has garnered Four medal Three Gold in championship record time and a Silver in a personal best time.

Celebration after 50 back
Patrick Groters celebrating after 50 backstroke win Photo courtesy of Michael

On the first day of competition in his first record performance Patrick set a new national record in the 50 metre backstroke recording a time of 26.80. He took more than half a second off his 15-17 and senior national record for his first sub 27 second clocking. He is also tracking the Hungary World Championships B standard time of 26.18. In what would have seen to be a “weak” event for him the 200 metre breaststroke turned out to be medal winning performance. He swam a strong final to challenge Izaak Bastian for the Gold. Patrick would take the Silver in a personal best time of 2:21.73.

Shot with Aruban flag being raised

The second day of competition could have been dubbed “Day of the Olympians” as he lowered regional marks held by Olympians from Jamaica and Barbados. In the 100 metre backstroke he crushed his 15-17 and senior national mark of 58.35 as well as the CARIFTA record held by Jamaica Olympian Timothy Wynter of 57.32 with 57.17 clocking. He won the race by a little over a second. In what can only be described as a dominating 400 individual medley performance he again lowered his Aruban 15-17 and senior national record of 4:33.96 and the 2004 regional standard of the legendary Barbadian Olympian Bradley Ally of 4:31.96 with a time of 4:27.69. That is the first time anyone in the region has broken 4:30 for the event. He beat the field by almost 20 seconds.  He again got close to another 2017 World Championships B standard .The consideration mark in the event is 4:26.93.

Interview with World Record holder Alia
Patrick Groters being interviewed by Olympian and World Reco

In speaking to draftingthecaribbean  on Sunday  April 16 the Aruban Phenom had the following thoughts

I was very excited to come to my last CARIFTA. In my mind I had times I wanted to do, I felt that training has been great and I felt ready. After first event yesterday, I just got even more excited because I did better than I expected. 200 Breaststroke  is not my event and my coach entered me to get experience racing breaststroke for the IM. Swimming as well as I did just got me pumped. Today I wanted to break 4:30 in the IM and i am happy and satisfied. My coach still wants a better breaststroke split. So we still have work to do.”

Leave a Reply

