PLASCHKA OPENS JAMAICA’S WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP ACCOUNT IN HUNGARY WITH BEST TIME BY A JAMAICAN AT THE GLOBAL COMPETITION

justin-plaschka-m-lyn
Justin Plaschka Photo courtesy of Michael Lyn

Jamaica’s Justin Plaschka got the proceedings for the three man swim Jamaica contingent underway at the 2017 FINA World Swimming Championships being held in Budapest Hungary from Sunday July 23 to Sunday July 30th when he competed in the Men’s 50 metre butterfly.

 

Justin who is the national record holder in the event with a time of 24.21 clocked a season best’s time of 24.63 to place 41st overall. That placed him as the second fastest person from the CCCAN region behind Trinidad and Tobago’s Dylan Carter who posted a time of 23.73.

Brad and Alia
Brad Hamilton and Alia Atkinson Photos courtesy of swimming world magazine and Getty images

Justin’s time ranks him as the fastest ever Jamaican to compete at the Long Course World Championships bettering the 25. 68 recorded by former national record holder Brad Hamilton at the 2009 World Championship. His performance also puts him as the best placed Jamaican man by passing Hamilton’s 77th placing at the 2005 Montreal Championship. He is also the best placed Jamaican ever in the event as the previous highest ranking was 46th by Olympian Alia Atkinson (2004,2008, 2012 ,2016) at the  same competition.

Justin Nov
Justin Plaschka Photo Courtesy of newsday.com

Plaschka gave his thoughts on second senior international Championship following his debut at the 2016 World Short Course Championships held in Windsor Canada in December

I was relatively happy with my times considering my circumstances. My flights were all delayed yesterday so I did not arrive in Budapest until 2:30 in the morning. I was very tired and getting my accreditation took longer than expected so I did not have a lot of time to warm up. I know that they are things that happen and I was glad I was able to stay as composed under the pressure and compete as I did. I know it will be much better in the 50 free. In terms of being at worlds I’m just extremely happy for the opportunity to be here and get to race and racing at the highest level is giving me more and more experience every time”.

The swim team is completed by Coach Chris Anderson, swimmer Michael Gunning who will be competing in the 200 metre freestyle and 200 metre butterfly. The full Aquatics delegation includes diver Olympian Yona Knight –Wisdom (2016).

 

 

Leave a Reply

