ARUBAN JORDY GROTERS LOWERS NATIONAL 100 METRE BREASTSTROKE RECORD ON DAY ONE OF BUDAPEST WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

 

The first day of the 2017 FINA World Championships in Budapest Hungary saw Aruba’s Jordy Groters lowering his personal best and national record in the 100 metre breaststroke.

Heading into the global competition the Aruban national mark stood at 1:03.23 (split time 29.68). That time was recorded at the Caribbean Islands Swimming championships in The Bahamas in July 2016. In Europe Jordy recorded splits of 29.39 and 33.56 to break the 1:03 barrier to stop the clock in 1:02.95.

Jordy Groters flanetwork
Jordy Groters Photo courtesy of flaswimnetwork.com

That swim places Groters as the fastest swimmer from the CARIFTA region and fourth in the CCCAN region .

With a new national standard in his first swim of the competition he told draftingthecaribbean today how he felt about that race

I think any swimmer would agree that seeing a lower number on the scoreboard than you’re used or what you expected to see to is one of the best feelings in this sport. In August of 2014 I swam 1:03 for the first time in my life. It’s been almost exactly three years since then and I’ve finally managed to dip under the 1:03 to reach the elusive 1:02. There was probably a point last year where I was so frustrated with my swims that I didn’t think I’d ever actually do it, too.

All that being said, I was filled with relief when I looked up to the scoreboard to see a 1:02 behind my name. I softly muttered ‘finally’ to myself as I let the moment sink in.

No race is perfect, however. I knew I had a horrible turn which makes me glad. It tells me that I can be faster. I’m not too concerned about that right now, though. I’m still on an adrenaline rush from that 1:02 and I really think it’s going to make my 50 breast tomorrow something special, again.”

carlos claveire
CCCAN number 1 ranked swimmer at 2017 World Swimming Championships Carlos Claverie Photo courtesy of Meridiano

Analysis of CCCAN performances in the 100 metre breaststroke

Name Country CCCAN ranking  Overall ranking Time
Carlos Claverie Venezuela 1 26th 1:00.83 (28.56)
Edgar Crespo Panama 2 32nd 1:01.74 (28.28)
Miguel De Lara Ojeda Mexico 3 37th 1:01.93 (29.11)
Jordy Groters Aruba 4 46th 1:02.95 (29.39)
Marc Rojas Dominican Republic 5 52nd 1:03.65 (29.48)
Greg Penny US Virgin Islands 6 56th 1:05.16 (30.68)
Arnoldo Herrara Costa Rica 7 60th 1:05.61(30.02)
Rainier Rafaela Curacao 8 62nd 1:06.96 (31.81)
Corey Ollivierre Grenada 9 67th 1:08.17(31.03)
Leave a Reply

