GROTERS LOWERS YET ANOTHER NATIONAL BREASTSTROKE RECORD AT THE BUDAPEST WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

jordy-groters-mutigers
Jordy Groters Photo courtesy of mutigers.com

At  the 2015 Kazan World Championships Jordy Groters had clocked an Aruban national record time of 28.64 in the 50 metre breaststroke. The mark stood untroubled until the recently held CCCAN Championships in Trinidad and Tobago. At that competition he lowered it to 28.57 in a Silver medal winning performance.

In Budapest he continued his record breaking form. He lowered the national standard yet again hitting the pads in 28.40. The breaststroke record makes it two national records from two swims as he had broken his own 100 metre breaststroke record earlier at the meet. That performance places him as the fastest from the CARIFTA region at World championships. It also ranks him as fourth fastest from the CCCAN region.

When draftingthecaribbean spoke to him today he elaborated on his record breaking feat

I was extremely excited to swim. Maybe a bit too excited which probably came back to bite me in the end. I was fast off the blocks, not as fast as I was in the 100, but still respectably fast for a 50. My pull out was wonderful, probably as strong as it had ever been. I was about 5.8s to the 15m marker, according to my coach’s watch. In past practices, with and without racing suits, I’ve only been 6.2s to the 15m marker. Obviously I did not know this during the race. All I knew was that I felt good and I felt fast. What my coach and I have also been working on this past year was having a consistent stroke rate. For the 100, we wanted about 1.15s per stroke, which we hit dead on. For the 50, however, our goal was to be 0.90s to 1.00s per stroke. In practice, I would hit it most of the time. This morning, my first couple strokes were indeed 0.95s per stroke, again, according to my coach’s watch. But as I said, my overexcitement probably came back to bite me. I was clocking 0.85s per stroke rate for the last 30m of the race. Of course, if I were used to that kind of speed, it probably would have been an amazing thing. Unfortunately, it was a bit too fast and I was essentially just spinning my arms, not grabbing any water. We still did a best time, lowering my National Record set at CCCAN a couple of weeks back by 0.17. For a 50m, that’s a pretty respectable drop in time. Now, in the reflection phase of my meet, I am thinking it could have been better if I kept my 0.95s stroke rate.

Nonetheless, I was extremely pleased with my time because it was under the B-qualifying standard for this meet, which I had never been before in the past. Of course I understand I didn’t swim this time during the qualifying period, but it’s a step in the right direction.  It shows that I can definitely start making some qualifying standards before the period ends.

Jordy Groter Mizzou swim and dive
Jordy Groters Photo courtesy of http://www.mutigers.com

Fortunately, Aruba will be swimming in the Mixed 400 Medley relay tomorrow morning, whereof I will be doing the breaststroke leg. This will give me a really unique and awesome opportunity to get a quick time in my 100 with a relay swing and to also improve on my turn that I didn’t do so well in my individual 100. Relays being so crucial and exciting in NCAA swimming, tomorrow’s swim will certainly give my coaches at Mizzou (University of Missouri) a good idea of what I’m capable of doing in relays alongside my individual swims.”

Leave a Reply

