SCHREUDERS SHATTERS NATIONAL RECORD IN 200 METRE FREESTYLE AT BUDAPEST WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

Mikel schreuders sportskidsaruba
Mikel Schreuders Photo courtesy of sportskidsaruba

Aruban Olympian Mikel Schreuders (2016) came to Europe off the strength of  a good CCCAN campaign in Trinidad and Tobago. In the twin island republic he won the Bronze in the 18 and over category in the 200 metre freestyle. In the Caribbean he had stopped the clock in 1:51.76. That was just off his national record of 1:51.02 set in November at the 2015 Tennessee Invitational. It was natural to expect better was to come in Europe.

He would not disappoint as he crushed his old national record on Monday July 24 and broke the 1:50 barrier with a time of 1:49.66. That time placed him 39th overall, the best ranking by an Aruban in over a decade in the event. Schreuders is the fastest CARIFTA representative at the competition with that swim. It also ranks third amongst the CCCAN swimmers in Budapest.

Analysis of splits of old record and new record

Date 50 100 150 200
Nov 2015 25.66 54.09 1:23.03 1:51.02
25.66 28.43 28.94 27.99
July 2017 26.15 53.66 1:21.78 1:49.66
26.15 27.51 28.12 27.88
mikel-schrueders-mutigers
Mikel Schreuders Photo courtesy of mutigers.com

A very happy Mikel spoke to draftingthecaribbean today about his achievement

“The first 50 I was trying to hold a nice pace and not go too hard on the legs. After the turn I realized i was back a bit so I started kicking more and I was thinking that I was out a little too slow. The third 50 I was just trying to hit my pace and go fast, and my last 50 I saw the guy from Jamaica (Michael Gunning) and I was going my fastest to get 1st in my heat”.

When asked if he was expecting this time he said

“This was my goal time and I have been training very hard this summer. I felt good during warm up. And my coaches Mark and Ismael told me that they thought I could go a 1:49”

 

Leave a Reply

