JESSE MARSH AND EMILY MacDONALD RECORD BEST TIMES BY JAMAICAN SWIMMERS AT 2017 COMMONWEALTH YOUTH GAMES IN THE BAHAMAS

The recently concluded Commonwealth Youth Games in The Bahamas saw swimmers Jesse Marsh and Emily MacDonald recording the best times ever swum by Jamaicans at the competition in their respective events.

Competing in the 200 metre butterfly Marsh lowered his personal best from 2:11.47 to 2:10.31 to place 13th overall. That bettered the previous Jamaican best time of 2:22.06 at the competition set by Dominic Walter at the 2008 Pune India Games. It is also the second fastest time recorded by a Jamaican at the Commonwealth Games at either the senior or junior level. The top time by a Jamaican is held by Jesse’s father Allan-Roy at the senior level . Allan-Roy recorded 2:06.89 at the 1982 Brisbane Australia Games.

When asked about his experience Jesse, who holds the 13-14 200 metre butterfly national record had the following thoughts

“Well the experience wasn’t really what I expected because of all the challenges we faced getting to the games and not being able to stay at the hotel with the rest of the team among other things. As for my performances I was disappointed not being able to swim the 50 and 100fly as I thought I had a pb in me in the 50 and in the 100 I had a good chance of being in the top 8. The 200fly I was satisfied but not entirely pleased with my performance as I knew if I was more mentally there I could’ve been a lot faster but I got a pb and now I’m looking forward to racing the events that I missed and the 200fly again in a few days. I will be racing at the Florida  Gold Coast Senior Champs in Coral Springs this weekend July 28-30 and then at the Futures championships in Nashville, TN on the following weekend August 3-6”.

cyg duo pic 2
Jesse Marsh and Emily MacDonald at the Betty Kelly-Kenning Aquatic Centre

Emily who competed in the 50 metre freestyle recorded a time of 27.60 to place 15th overall. That is the best time and placing for Jamaica at this level for the Commonwealth Games. The previous best was 29.02 and 25th place by Annabella Lyn at the 2015 Samoa Games. Her performance also doubles at the best placing for a Jamaican woman at both junior and senior level in the event as the previous best was 22nd by Angela (Dawn) Kane at the 2002 Manchester Games.  Her 27.60 is also the third fastest by a Jamaican woman at either the senior or junior. The list is headed by times recorded at the senior level at the 2002 Manchester Games .Olympian Angela (Dawn) Kane (2000,2004)  tops the list with a time of 27.09 .Kane is followed on the chart by Tamara Swaby with her effort of 27.25 at the same Games.

MacDonald who is the reigning CCCAN Champion in the 13-14 girl’s 50 metre freestyle gave her impression of the experience to draftingthecaribbean recently

“It was definitely a thrill to compete against athletes from countries that have such big reputations in swimming.  It is a joy for me to compete against people who are always going to push me.  I felt I could have done better but some accreditation issues had me quite anxious until the night before my race. Overall though I’m pleased because my time was still within my normal range”

 

This is the fourth contingent of swimmers Jamaica has sent to the Games

Year Country Swimmers
2008 Pune India Dominic Walter
2008 Pune India Alexia Royal-Eatmon
2008 Pune India Kendese Nangle
2011 Isle of Man Matthew Chen
2011 Isle of Man Breanna Roman
2015 Samoa Annabella Lyn
2015 Samoa Joseph Black
Leave a Reply

