JEAN LUC ZEPHIR MARKS DEBUT WITH SWIMS RANKED # 2 IN ALL TIME ST LUCIAN PERFORMANCES AT THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

Competing in his first Long Course World Championships in Budapest Hungary sprinter Jean Luc Zephir made his presence for his nation St Lucia and provided evidence of his talent.

Racing in the 100 metre freestyle he produced an effort of 51.98 (split time 24.61) to place 65th overall. That performance was the 3rd fastest for the CARIFTA region swimmers and the 8th fastest among the CCCAN sprinters. It is also the 2nd fastest time ever recorded by a St Lucian at the World Championships. The fastest time for St Lucia is the 51.39 set by Olympian Jordan Augier at the 2015 Kazan Championships.

 

He placed 4th among CARIFTA sprinters today July 28 in the 50 metre freestyle and 8th for the CCCAN region with a time of 23.76. The only St Lucian faster than Jean Luc again is Augier who produced a 23.30 clocking also in Kazan.

Jean Luc Zephir
Jean Luc Zephir Photo courtesy of Brian Charles Photography

Zephir spoke about his performances at the biggest swim meet outside of the Olympics early today with draftingthecaribbean

“I had a range of emotions about the experience. I am happy and at the same time a little disappointed in my times.  I think that for my first World Championship in long course it is satisfactory. All these steps will allow me to progress and learn. I had great races in the 100 freestyle, and the 50 freestyle where I finished 3rd in my heat but I think I can do even better. This week I was very proud to swim in the St Lucian colours. I think my father and mother and my club Plymouth Leander will also be very proud of me”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

