CAMERON BROWN LOWERS JAMAICAN 13-14 RECORD IN THE 100 METRE BREASTSTROKE IN CORAL SPRINGS

 

Jamaica’s Cameron Brown continued his excellent form in the breaststroke events by lowering the 13-14 100 metre breaststroke for the fourth time at the Florida Gold Senior Championships in Coral Springs Florida. His previous records were established at the 2016 CISC (Caribbean Islands Swimming Championships) in July, the Gulliver Invitational in January and the SPEEDO sectionals in March .Competing in the heats of the event of the event he lowered the record from 1:09.66 to 1:09.48. In the final of the event he would be just off that time but still under the old record as he placed 5th in a time of 1:09.60.

Analysis of records swims at CISC and at Florida Senior champs

Date First 50 metres Second 50 metres Final time
July 2016 CISC 33.02 36.99 1:10.01
Florida Senior Champs July 2017 32.05 37.43 1:09.48
Alia and Cameron
Olympian Alia Atkinson and Cameron Brown Jamaican 13-14 100 metre breaststroke national age group record holders Photo courtesy of Nicole Parker

Draftingthecaribbean spoke to Cameron after his record breaking swim on July 30 and got his insight about the race and the competition overall

“In my 50 metre breaststroke I came within .10 of the 13-14 age group National record (31.05 by Brad Hamilton), I was also 2 seconds shy of the 200 metre Breaststroke record (2:33.55). Feeling a little disappointed I knew I had an opportunity to touch the record again in my pet event, 100 metre breaststroke. My first 50 was the fastest of the field at 32.05,  my turn was good but I would’ve been happier if my 2nd 50 was faster. It was a 37.43. I ended up with the new record”.

Leave a Reply

