MARCOS LAVADO RECORDS FASTEST TIME EVER DONE BY VENEZUELAN SWIMMER AT BUDAPEST WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

Lavado off the blocks.PNG

Venezuela ‘s standard bearer in the 200 metre butterfly at the last two World Championships (Kazan and Barcelona)  Olympian Marcos Lavado (2012) continued to be the man to call on at 2017 Budapest World Championships as he again recorded the regional best time of 1:57.37 for 19th overall.

Not only did he better his best World Championship time and placing from 2013 of 1:58.69 and 22nd position he also recorded the fastest time ever done by a Venezuelan swimmer at the World Championships.

Lavado.PNG

Lavado’s performance should come as no surprise as he broke the national record of 1:57.51 by Olympian Rafael Vidal when he won the Bronze medal at the 1984 Los Angeles Games with a swim of 1:56.98 at the Aquatic International Invitational in Barbados.

When draftingthecaribbean spoke to Lavado he spoke about his performances and his plans

“I think it was a great meet for me, I was in good shape and I felt confident that I could drop my times… I swam 200 and 100 butterfly where I got 19th and (53.97) 45th place respectively. They weren’t my best times but I can take them and I know that I can do better with my coach Gianluca Alberani who has supported me since I arrive to this swimming club (Azura Florida Aquatics) in January 2016. Now I’d like to take a little break and start a new plan and talk with my coaches what are the most important meets to be focus on for next year”

Leave a Reply

