MIKAILI CHARLEMAGNE RECORDS FASTEST BY A ST LUCIAN WOMAN IN THE 50 METRE FREESTYLE AT THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

 

M C st Lucia 2
Mikaili Charlemagne Photo courtesy of Brian Charles photography

On July 29 Mikaili Charlemagne of St Lucia recorded the fastest time by a St Lucian woman at the World championships when she stopped the clock in a time of 28.26 to place 60th overall. That bettered the previous best time of 28.59 recorded by Siona Huxley at the 2009 Rome World Championships.

Draftingthecaribbean got her reaction to her swim on Sunday July 31.

Although the outcome of the 50 freestyle was not what l expected I had fun and enjoyed racing. From looking at the heat that I was seeded in I knew that the competition would be stiff. From the start I broke out with my head down trying to go for my goal time. I was disappointed that I did not make my best time but this race was motivation for me to train hard to be able to do better the next time I swim”.

mikaili Charlemagne 1
Mikaili Charlemagne Photo courtesy of Brian Charles photography

On Thursday July 27 Mikaili became the first St Lucian woman to contest the 100 metre freestyle. In that race she posted a time of 1:02.59 to finish 66th. She gave draftingthecaribbean her impressions of competing at her first senior international competition

This meet has been a wonderful experience for me thus far. It all started with me seeing the competition pool, that alone was motivation for me to swim to the best of my ability. Another thing that motivated me was seeing world class athletes like Katinka   Hosszu, Katie Ledecky, Adam Peaty and Simone Manuel swim before me. The days leading up to my first event  I started to warm up in the competition pool and that also helped me get a better feel of the type of competition that I was about to go up against. I also started to visualize my race days before. I think visualizing my race was one of the factors that helped me perform how I did. When the morning of my race came I was a bit nervous. Going down to the call room was a totally new experience because I had never been to a call room like that before. Going to the call room was also a little intimidating for me because there were so many girl tapping themselves to keep their muscles warm. Thankfully I was able to block out that sound and focus on my race. I felt that I had a wonderful race and during the race I felt energized and happy although I was nervous. I am just so happy that I did a PB (personal best time) and made my country proud. I am looking forward to my next race and many other meets like this to come”.

One thought on “MIKAILI CHARLEMAGNE RECORDS FASTEST BY A ST LUCIAN WOMAN IN THE 50 METRE FREESTYLE AT THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

  1. Congratulations to my niece for her
    PBS (personal best) time in her swim meet in Budapest. Makaili I am so proud to see you at the world champion swim meet. I remembered in 2009 I told your mom that you will be there one day and we agreed and God has showed me that. May God continued blessings be upon you as you continue to excel in all areas of you life. You are bless and highly favored my love. Way to go proud aunty. Whoop Whoop!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

